Higher National Certificate in Computing (QCF Level 4 / NQF Level 6

The Higher National Certificate in Computing is one of the world's most successful and best-loved applied learning qualification, engaging students in practical, interpersonal and thinking skills for more than thirty.Students will be aiming to go on to employment or progress to ist or second year of a related qualification at a university. This qualification is made up of 120 credits. It is usually studied full-time over one year, or part-time over two years.

  • Course Duration: 1 years
  • Start date: October | January | April
  • Days: online training)
  • Accreditation: Pearson Edexcel
  • Fee: EUR 300/module
  • No. of Modules to acheive an HNC: 8 modules
  • Entry Requirement:
    Irish Qualification: A minimum of two C3s in higher-level subjects and three D3 in ordinary-levels subjects in the Leaving Certificate. Mature students (aged 23 and above on the 1st of January on the year of admission) who do not meet the minimum academic entry requirement may also apply and will be assessed on the basis of age, work experience and any other training or development programmes completed. An IELTS score of 5.5 or equivalent is required for non-native English speaker.

    UK Qualification: GCSE/IGCSE in Maths, English and 3 other subjects OR BTEC National Diploma/Certificate, otherwise students would have to take the IGCSE subjects along with the programme.

  • BTEC Higher Nationals are designed to provide a specialist programme, linked to professional body requirements and National Occupational Standards where appropriate.
  • A key progression path for BTEC HNC and HND learners is to the second or third year of a degree or honours degree programme, depending on the match of the BTEC Higher National units to the degree programme in question.
  • A stimulating and challenging programme of study that will be both engaging and memorable for students.
  • A simplified structure: students undertake a substantial core of learning in the BTEC Higher National Certificate and can build on this in the BTEC Higher National Diploma, with specialist and optional units linked to their area of study.
  • Six specialist pathways in the BTEC Level 5 Higher National Diploma, so there is something to suit each student�s preference of study and future progression plans
  • Refreshed content that is closely aligned with Professional Body, vendor, employer and higher education needs.
  • Programme design benefited from the help and support of some universities and further education tutors, employers, vendors, Professional Body representatives and other individuals who have generously shared their time and expertise.They are: British Computing Society (BCS) | Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) | University of Kent | University of Hull | ISC2 | Uxbridge College | The Tech Partnership | CompTIA | QA Apprenticeships | CISCO | Imago Solutions | National College for Digital Skills

8 Modules

From BTEC to University


Career and Progression Opportunities

On successful completion of the Higher National Diploma, students can develop their careers in the IT sector through:

  • Entering employment
  • Continuing existing employment
  • Linking with the appropriate Professional Body
  • Committing to Continuing Professional Development (CPD)
  • They can also progress to 1st or 2nd year of a university related degree programme or continue to acheive the BTEC HND.

Job roles for graduates that choose to move on to employement

  • Engineer
  • Systems Architect
  • Computer Service and Repair
  • Technician
  • Network Manager
  • Software Developer
  • Business Analyst
  • Games Developer
  • Web Developer
  • Marketing Analyst
  • Data Engineer
  • Data Designer
  • Systems Tester
  • Database Administrator
  • IT Project Manager
  • IT Support Technician

BTEC in Schools: A Success Story

Progressing to university.